Approved at 19 Jan 2017 meeting



## 5 January 2017 237 Atlantic Avenue Heritage Commission Conference Room Subcommittee for NHDOT Drake's Hill Bridge Project

Present: Donna Etela, chair Jeff Hillier Jim Maggiore Jane Robie

Also present: Jane Currivan, Nancy Monaghan, Cynthia Swank

Meeting called to order at 9:36am.

At the regular meeting of the Heritage Commission on December 15, 2016 Etela appointed a subcommittee of herself, Hillier, Maggiore, and Robie to draft a letter to the NH Department of Transportation about that department's preliminary plans for the railroad bridge at Drake's Hill. She and Robie were to concentrate on mitigation; Maggiore and Hillier on the rail trail.

Etela reported that despite following up with Christine Perron of McFarland Johnson who had offered to provide mitigation examples, she has not yet received any. The subcommittee decided to concentrate on the rail trail until mitigation examples are provided.

Hillier reported that Scott Bogle of the Rockingham Planning Commission had not seemed concerned about the conflict between one of the NH DOT's options and the rail trail negotiations, especially the State retaining the right to re-establish train service. It was agreed that the issue should be raised in the Heritage Commission letter. Other concerns, questions and suggestions of members of the sub-committee and other attendees included: archeological survey (locations, and why limited to euroamericans), impact upon natural resources, wetlands in the area, role of Conservation Commission, impact upon State-Pan Am negotiations, viability of one of the options because of the height issue, proposed cell tower that is on hold.

Maggiore will draft a letter to the NH DOT with copies to the other representatives present at the December 8th meeting, Perron of McFarland Johnson, Darren Blood and Tom Levins of GM2 Associates, Marc Laurin, Mike Licciardi, Joe Adams of NH DOT. The other consulting party and NH DOT representatives may also be copied. The draft will be presented to the full Heritage Commission at its regular meeting on January 19, 2017 and voted on at that time.

Adjourned: 10:20am

Cynthia G. Swank Recording Secretary